links to:


Updated 24 March 2007


For planning purposes, District Councils are responsible for Local Plans, the day-to-day administration of planning policy and the determination of most planning applications.  County Councils are responsible for Transport, Minerals and Waste Management.

Unitary Authorities assume the responsibilities of both County and District Councils in their areas.

All three types of authority, plus representatives of Parish Councils, come together with business and other interests in the Regional Assemblies or Regional Chambers to make a co-ordinated input to the Government's Regional Planning process.  You can find out more about this on the websites of the South East England Regional Assembly and the East of England Regional Assembly.


County Councils

Bedfordshire CC

Buckinghamshire CC

Hertfordshire CC

Unitary Authorities

Luton BC

Milton Keynes BC


District Councils


Bedford BC

Mid Bedfordshire DC

South Bedfordshire DC


Aylesbury Vale DC

Chiltern DC

South Bucks DC

Wycombe DC


Broxbourne BC

Dacorum DC

East Hertfordshire DC

Hertsmere DC

North Hertfordshire DC

St Albans City and DC

Stevenage BC

Three Rivers DC

Watford BC

Welwyn Hatfield DC